And Jacob lifted up his eyes, and looked, and, behold, Esau came, and with him four hundred men. And he divided the children unto Leah, and unto Rachel, and unto the two handmaids. And he put the handmaids and their children foremost, and Leah and her children after, and Rachel and Joseph hindermost.” (Genesis 33:1-2 KJV)

While meditating on the above quoted Scripture, I remembered the Pecking Order Theory I learnt in the Corporate Finance class as an MBA student of Aston Business School, Birmingham United Kingdom. This theory postulates that companies should be hierarchical in the management of their capital structure. This can be done by the preferment of its financing in these three-steps order: retained earnings; debt; and finally, new equity.

The above Scripture clearly shows that Jacob adopted the pecking order theory to show preferment and favouritism in his household. The two handmaids and their children on the first part and most vulnerable to any eventual attack by Esau. Leah and her children on the second part and less vulnerable to attack. And Rachel and children on the third part, well positioned to be protected in case of any attack.

The Spirit of God began to expose to me from Scriptures that in the Kingdom of God there’s also a pecking order of blessing. God prefers some believers for definite and distinct blessings not because He loves others less, but He rewards the fruit of their love and faith in Him. Peter said, “…God is no respecter of persons. But in every nation he that feareth him, and worketh righteousness, is accepted (preferred or favoured) with him.” Acts.10:34-35[Emphasis Mine]

Here is the pecking order of blessing in ascending order:

1. Universal Blessing.

This blessing is enjoyed by everyone created by God in the earth. The Scriptures say that God makes His sun to rise on the evil and on the good and sends rain on the just and unjust alike. The folks at this level are only enjoying mercy drops. This order of blessing can’t be compared with the realm of showers or better still, being the rainmaker. (Matt.5:45; Job.25:3)

2. The Blessing of the Righteous.

Our faith in the finished work of Christ makes us automatically righteous which in turn declares us eternally blessed. Therefore, your born-again status confers on you the blessing of redemption. Which implies that you can access all that Jesus Christ died for. (Ps.5:12; 115:12-15;2 Cor.5:17-21)

3. The Blessing of Stewardship.

This is the highest order of blessing. It’s not enough to say you’re righteous without engaging the grace of redemption in the service of God. It’s stewardship that distinguishes us for distinct and peculiar rewards or blessings. God rewards those who diligently seek and serve Him. Jesus showed us an example by taking the form of a servant, though being the Son of God. No wonder, He obtained a more excellent blessing. I call this highest order of blessing ‘Rewarded Blessing.’ (Ps.35:12; 102:12-15; Mal.3:17-18; Phil.2:6-11; Heb.1:4)

As a leader of my destiny, I choose to go for the highest level of blessing and I know you will be as interested as I am. How do we then engage in profitable service that engenders rewards?

• Serve the interest of the Kingdom via prayer/fasting, evangelism, financing and active participation in your God planted local assembly.

• Serve God in righteousness and true holiness by believing in the gift of righteousness which is received at new birth and subsequently allow the Holy Spirit to direct the course of your beautiful life.

• Serve other children of God in your discovered area of assignment. Whatever you do for society and those within your sphere of influence, you do it for God.

To a life full of visible blessings,

✝️Tochukwu Kemakolam

Prime Minister

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two + nine =